NMMA Certification

Boat and Yacht Certification Updates For 2015 and Beyond
Yacht Certification may be displayed by boats longer the 26-feet LOA that achieve NMMA certification.

The National Marine Manufacturers Association (NMMA ) Boat & Yacht Certification helps manufacturers ensure their boats are built to applicable standards set by the American Boat & Yacht Council (ABYC), and to promote their compliance to the public.

In addition to the ABYC standards, NMMA applies the regulations of the United States Coast Guard (USCG) and standards from the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR).

Since the standard setting and regulatory agencies are constantly improving and updating standards and regulations, so must the NMMA update the requirements for a boat to boast the valued NMMA Certified placard.


Looking ahead to 2015 model year, 11 standards in the standards basis used for certification have been updated, and looking into 2016, we can see that NMMA has updated eight of the subject areas comprising its standard basis.

It is heartening to know that NMMA is on top of this, since almost all of the standards are in some way related to boating safety.

You can view the complete standards basis on the NMMA website, or by viewing the documents attached to this post. But for quick reference, some of these include:

  • Anchoring, Mooring and Strong Points
  • Ladders, Handholds and Rails
  • Seacocks, Through-hulls and Drain Plugs
  • Water Systems

This is a PDF file of the NMMA Certification Standards Basis