Race and Run News

Yamaha and Sea-Doo Racers Claim IJSBA Championships on Havasu

Yamaha and Sea-Doo Racers Claim IJSBA Championships on Havasu
Yamaha racer Chris MacClugageCourtesy IJSBA

Yamaha and Sea-Doo racers from around the world competed at the 37th running of the IJSBA World Finals at Lake Havasu, Ariz., Oct. 6-7.

Leading the Yamaha contingent was 24-time World Champion Chris MacClugage who finished third in Moto 1 and first in Moto 2 to win the Pro Runabout Stock world championship aboard a Broward Motorsports Monster Energy Dean's Team Yamaha GP1800R. Yamaha swept the podium with GP1800R rider Eric Francis finishing second and Abdullah Alfadel finishing third, also on a GP1800R.

“We had a slow start, but in the end the surf came up and I was able to live up to my reputation. When I go to the line and conditions are rough, people expect me to do what I did,” said MacClugage, who has now won the class three years in a row.

In Pro Runabout Women's action, Broward Motorsports Dean’s Team Yamaha GP1800R rider Sophie Francis won her first professional title. In Pro Runabout 1100 Superstock racing, Yamaha racer Eric Lagopoulos sank an armada of modified Sea-Doo Sparks to win the championship on a Riva Racing VX WaveRunner.

Yamaha and Sea-Doo Racers Claim IJSBA Championships on Havasu
Sea-Doo racer Mohammed BurbayeaCourtesy IJSBA

Mohammed Burbayea of Kuwait rode a Sea-Doo RXP-X to successfully defend his Pro GP IJSBA world championship, the model’s eighth consecutive IJSBA Pro GP championship. Sea-Doo RXP-X riders also collected championships in Pro Superstock and Pro Limited. Waleed Alsharshani of Qatar claimed his first Pro Superstock win joining Denmark’s Marcus Jorgensen who won Pro Limited and Pro Slalom as X-TEAM world champions. György Kasza of Hungary added to his championships in the Pro GP class.

Sea-Doo riders added to the podium count with Kasza finishing as the runner up in the Pro Open class. In the Pro GP class, the UK’s prolific James Bushell finished in second place and Marcus Jorgenson of Denmark completed the X-Team podium sweep finishing in third. Kylie Elmers also added another Pro Women’s championship to her resume aboard her Sea-Doo Center-backed RXP-X 300.

The Sea-Doo X-TEAM contingent from Thailand led the way in the fast growing Sea-Doo SPARK classes. Supak Settura earned the Pro/Am 1100 Open world title as teammate Permpon Teerapatpanich claimed the Pro/Am 1100 Stock world championship. Thai riders also included Teerapat Meechai collecting two world championships, in amateur stock and super stock, with Tossawanon Phuearphong joining him with a win in 1100 Limited. Yuki Francois claimed her first championship leading the hotly contested Pro Womens 1100 class aboard her Sea-Doo SPARK.

The Sea-Doo X-TEAM riders claimed 11 World Titles and 47 podium finishes.